Users on your friend’s list are notified when you check in to Facebook. The ‘Activity Status’ function on Facebook also reveals how long ago you were active on the site. Friends will be able to tell when you are available to be contacted due to this.
Assume, however, that you have logged onto Facebook to do some job. Or, for whatever reason, you don’t want the folks on your friend’s list to know you’ve gone to Facebook. The activity status can be turned off in some instances. Even if it is online, it will display ‘offline.’ This can be done in two ways: through the website or the app.
On the internet, how to do it.
1. Go to Facebook and sign in.
2. In the upper right corner, click the ‘Messenger’ icon.
3. Select the three-dot choice icon next to Messenger from the drop-down menu.
4. Selecting ‘Turn off active status’ will remove you from the online list.
On a smartphone, here’s how to accomplish it.
1. On your smartphone, open the Messenger app.
2. In the upper left, tap your profile image next to ‘Chats.’
3. Select ‘Active Status’ from the drop-down menu.
4. If you disable the toggle button above, you will no longer be visible online.
NB: If you want to activate active status again, repeat the steps above. Another thing to consider is that if you disable active status, you will not know whether or not your friends are online.